Connect with us


Solange, Laura Mvula, Theo Parrish headed to SA to headline AFROPUNK Joburg


Solange, Laura Mvula, Theo Parrish headed to SA to headline AFROPUNK Joburg

The AFROPUNK Festival is a musical institution, defining culture in the music world for over 14 years, a triumph of multiculturalism and diversity for people of all races, genders, colours, creeds and tastes.
NEW YORK, ATLANTA, LONDON and PARIS are all home to global AFROPUNK events, and now you can add JOHANNESBURG to that list of global capitals. The first batch of performers who’ll take part in the inaugural festival, which will take place on December 30-31, were announced by Sal Masekela at a bash featuring the finest in SA culture at Constitution Hill’s Women’s Jail on Thursday the 11th of May.

Among the artists who will be performing at AFROPUNK Joburg are Solange, Laura Mvula, King Tha vs. Blk Jks, Theo Parrish, The Brother Moves On, Spoek Mathambo, Black Motion, Gods Sons & Daughters, Manthe Ribane & OKZharp, DJ Lag, Urban Village, Nakhane Toure, Nonku Phiri and TCIYF, with more performers set to be announced.

The move to Johannesburg is a natural fit in line with AFROPUNK’s desire to make connections throughout the Diaspora, creating bonds between those with a shared mindset. From the neighborhoods of Brooklyn, New York, through to U.S. and Europe, and now in yet another continent, this AFROPUNK mindset is less concerned with genres and pigeonholes, than the strength and unity of otherness. Modern South Africa is proof of the victory of otherness over historical precedent, and of the country’s desire to mold a society based on virtues that are at the core of AFROPUNK.

Since the festival first launched in Brooklyn, New York 14 years ago, AFROPUNK has been defining culture in the music world; a triumph of multiculturalism, diversity and championing all races, genders, colours, creeds and tastes. Each year, AFROPUNK unites over 90,000 people across their festivals, and another 40,000 at their other events. Over 160 bands and DJ’s have become part of the AFROPUNK family. Artists who have performed at past AFROPUNK festivals include Grace Jones, D’Angelo, Mos Def, Lauryn Hill, Lenny Kravitz, Erykah Badu, Ice Cube, Janelle Monae, Chuck D, Bad Brains, George Clinton, TV on the Radio, Flying Lotus, Kaytranada, Lianne La Havas, Death Grips, and many others.

This year’s AFROPUNK theme is WE THE PEOPLE, and it is reflected in the musical lineup as well as the food, art and style marketplace aspects of AFROPUNK.

More artists will be announced for the AFROPUNK Joburg lineup in the build-up to the December event.


Drop your comments below & Join the conversation , even on our Twitter or Facebook :



(Visited 63 times, 1 visits today)

Leave your Comment


Continue Reading
Click to comment

More in Events

To Top