WhatsApp is now making it easy for users to revoke messages or getting rid of those drunk texts.
The app now lets you delete and revoke messages after you’ve sent them.
You’ll be able to delete messages up to seven minutes after you sent them, and they’ll disappear from conversations or group chats. A new WhatsApp support article, spotted by The Next Web, reveals that both sender and receiver will need the latest WhatsApp for this feature to work.
So how do you delete the message?
To delete messages you’ll get a new option after you select delete, allowing you to “delete for everyone” instead of just from your own device. While the feature appears to be rolling out, it’s not fully live just yet. WhatsApp does warn that “recipients may see your message before it’s deleted or if deletion was not successful,” so it’s not a guarantee. It’s also possible that WhatsApp users will still see messages in notifications before they’re deleted.
As mentioned, both users will have to have the latest version of WhatsApp but do note the feature will be rolling out to more users this week.
Source: The Verge