Connect with us

Top 5 MTN Record of the Year nominees


Top 5 MTN Record of the Year nominees

The South African public has shortlisted its top 5 candidates for the popular MTN SAMA 18 Record of the Year.

Title sponsors MTN have issued audited results after voting lines closed on Thursday, 27 April at 8pm to allow for counting of votes that determined which five artists will compete for the MTN Record of the Year at the 18th annual South African Music Awards taking place on Monday, 30 April at the Sun City Superbowl.

Top 5 MTN Record of the Year nominees
The top 5 popular MTN Record of the Year nominees that have made the shortlist are DJ Choice his Casanova club hit, DJ S’bu featuring Zahara for the remix of Lengoma, Zahara for her Loliwe anthem and house sensation Mi Casa for These Streets. Theo Kgosinkwe featuring Zonke joins the shortlist for their ‘Thinking About You’ collaboration.
Voting lines are open again and will close at 21h30 on Monday, 30 April 2012 during the MTN SAMA 18 ceremony.

Each artists’ votes have been reset to zero for the 2nd and last phase of the voting process.


“The MTN Record of the Year is one of the most anticipated awards of the MTN SAMAs,” notes Serame Taukobong, Chief Marketing Officer at MTN SA. “This is the only category that is decided by the public and we would like to thank them for supporting local music and voting for their favourite MTN Record of the Year nominee. It is now critical that they continue to vote as this round of voting will decide whether their favourite artist bags the award.”
MTN has also shortlisted nine finalists from the Feel the Fame competition who stand a to win R180 000 and a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to present the MTN Record of the Year statuette to the winning artist live on SABC 1 at the MTN SAMAs – a first in the history of the MTN SAMAs that an ordinary South African is afforded such an opportunity. The winner will be announced on Sunday, 29 April in Sun City.
To vote, members of the public can send the code of their favourite artists to 083 123 SAMA (7262).

Top 5 MTN Record of the Year nominees

(Visited 98 times, 1 visits today)
Continue Reading

More in Music

To Top