The giant streaming service Netflix, announced that it will begin to automatically cancel all accounts that have been inactive for a year or more.
What does this mean? This means that customers that haven’t used / logged-in into their account for a year or longer will receive an email or in-app notifications from the company, to check if they wish to keep their membership. This includes even those who haven’t streamed anything in more than two years.
You know that sinking feeling when you realize you signed up for something but haven’t used it in ages? At Netflix, the last thing we want is people paying for something they’re not using. So we’re asking everyone who has not watched anything on Netflix for a year since they joined to confirm they want to keep their membership”, the company said.
If the user doesn’t respond or confirm to keep the account, Netflix will automatically cancel their subscription.
“These inactive accounts represent less than half of one percent of our overall member base, only a few hundred thousand, and are already factored into our financial guidance”.
However, if you cancel your account and decide to rejoin within 10 months, users will still have their favorites, profiles, viewing preferences, and account details just as they left them.