Connect with us

Moonchild Sanelly, Masego, TCYIF, Nomzamo Mbatha & more lined-up for PLANET AFROPUNK 2020


Moonchild Sanelly, Masego, TCYIF, Nomzamo Mbatha & more lined-up for PLANET AFROPUNK 2020

Afropunk has announced the second wave of artists who will be performing at the 2020 edition of the festival, which will be livestreamed from 23 October to 25 October.

Connecting artists and fans together worldwide, PLANET AFROPUNK 2020 will be unlike anything you’ve seen from the festival yet, with performances streaming everywhere from Atlanta, South Africa, Los Angeles, Nigeria, the UK, and Botswana just to name a few. Headliners include R&B songstress Ari Lennox, Afrobeats singer Tiwa Savage and Houston rapper Tobe Nwigwe who recently went viral for his powerful song “TRY JESUS.”



The lineup also features Sampa The Great, South Africa’s “Queen of Gqom” Moonchild Sanelly, Smino, Masego, and Serpentwithfeet who will all be streaming live from Los Angeles. Bahia, Brazil will also be on full display, with Larissa Luz, ÀTTØØXXÁ, Afrocidade, and more taking to the digital stage. Black led UK organization Jazz:refreshed will present Balimaya, Tawiah and Theon Cross, representing the UK Jazz revolution.

PLANET AFROPUNK will also host Oscar and Grammy award-winning Chicago rapper Common for a performance powered by Bose, Cape Verdean singer Mayra Andrade, Sudanese-American artist Dua Saleh, genre-fluid band ASIATICA, North Carolina experimental four-piece BLACK HAÜS, Kenyan Nyege Nyege affiliate and rapper MC Yallah, and Soweto punk rockers TCYIF alongside the previously-announced Ari Lennox, Tiwa Savage, Moses Sumney, and Smino just to name a few. PLANET AFROPUNK will be co-hosted by actress and UNHCR Ambassador Nomzamo Mbatha, Bahia cool hunter and entrepreneur Loo Nascimento, as well as OG AFROPUNK fam Gitoo.

The event will also bring a premiere list of speakers including comedian and actress Amanda Seales, The Daily Show with Trevor Noah correspondent Dulcé Sloan, and multimedia journalist Ivie Anie. Also joining the lineup is media personality Ashlee Marie Preston, singer-songwriter and model Dawn Richard, and activist Tamika Mallory.

See full lineup details below with newly announced performers included:

Afrobapho, Afrocidade feat. Majur and Mahal Pita, Ari Lennox, Arka’n Asrafokor, ASIATICA, ÀTTØØXXÁ feat. Hiran, Balimaya Project, Blac Rabbit, BLACK HAÜS, Bongeziwe Mabandla, Bootsy Collins, Common, DJ Poison Ivy, DJ Ruckus, Dua Saleh, Duckwrth, DUMA, Duo B.A.V.I., Durand Bernarr, Ecko Bazz, Elaine, Jahmed, Johnny Cradle, Jonah Mutono, KIRBY, Larissa Luz + Carlinhos Brown, Loshh, Lous and the Yakuza, Masego, Mayra Andrade, MC Yallah, Mereba, Meshell N’Dege Ocello, Moonchild Sanelly, Moonga K., Moses Sumney, Muneyi, Muzi, Nêssa, Rebelmatic, Sampa The Great, Serpentwithfeet, Smino, Solo Ntsizwa Ka Mthimkhulu, Songhoy Blues, T. Nava, Tawiah, TCIYF, The Veldt, Theon Cross, Tiana Major9, Tiwa Savage, Tobe Nwigwe, Tomi Agape, TrapFunk & Alívio, Ukhoikhoi, Virus, Yan Cloud, Yves Tumor

Speakers: Amanda Seales, Ashlee Marie Preston, Blerdcon, Bridget Todd, Dawn Richard, Dulcé Sloan, Ivie Anie, Jesse Williams, Maimouna Youssef AKA Mumu Fresh, Robert Glasper, Tamika D. Mallory, Terrace Martin.

PLANET AFROPUNK will be streamed at with exclusive content on Facebook Live from October 23 to October 25. You can RSVP now at


Share your thoughts on this article and join the conversation on Twitter or Facebook.


Receive exclusive and latest updates on Music, Sneakers, Fashion and latest trends.


(Visited 3 times, 1 visits today)
Continue Reading

More in Events

To Top